UK ARIAS 2023 Details Announced

The Radio Academy has released details of the 2023 Audio & Radio Industry Awards – with new categories, an increase to nine nominees in many categories, and the return of hosts Rylan and Fleur East.

Entries for the industry’s most prestigious awards will open on Tuesday 3rd January 2023, and this year will see four new categories and a number of changes to existing categories.

These include a new award for Best Community Radio Station, a split of Best New Radio Show and Best New Podcast, a new Audiobooks category, and a one-off 2022 Special Award to recognize audio coverage of the death of HM The Queen,

The ceremony itself is confirmed for Tuesday 2nd May, and will once again be hosted in London’s West End by BBC Radio 2’s Rylan, with live voiceover from Hits Radio Fleur East. The nominations will be revealed at a nomination party on Thursday 30th March, hosted by NewsUK in The News Building.

In a change to the way the awards are judged, The Academy has announced that in 18 of the 28 categories there will be now have nine nominations instead of six. ARIAS Judging has historically taken place in two pools – allowing for three nominations from the BBC, and three from non-BBC entries. From 2023, there will be an additional pool of three nominees for independent podcasts in the 18 applicable categories.

Chair of Judges, Phil Riley, said: “This is the most significant set of changes to the ARIAS since they launched in 2016. We’re further embracing the independent podcast sector, by giving them three guaranteed nominations in more than half our categories. The changes and additions to the award categories are helping make sure the ARIAS are fit for the ever-changing audio sector – including the new Community Radio Station of the Year. And with the phenomenal job the industry did supporting the nation this September, we’re proud to recognize the role radio and audio played in the coverage of Queen’s death through the 2022 Special Award.”

Radio Academy Chair, Helen Thomas, said: “The industry’s reaction to Rylan and Fleur this year was so positive, I’m delighted we have them back to host the ARIAS next year – they’re such stars!”.

The full list of categories for the ARIAS 2023 are as follows (with * indicating categories with nine nominees):

  • Best New Presenter *
  • Best New Radio Show
  • Best News Coverage *
  • Best Speech Breakfast Show
  • Best Speech Presenter *
  • Best Sports Show *
  • Best Coverage of an Event *
  • The Comedy Award *
  • Best Music Breakfast Show, supported by MusicMaster Scheduling
  • Best Music Entertainment Show
  • Best Specialist Music Show *
  • Best Music Special *
  • Best Factual Single Programme *
  • Best Factual Series *
  • Best New Podcast *, supported by Audible
  • Best Drama *
  • Best Audiobook or Reading *
  • Best Station Sound
  • Best Commercial Partnership *
  • The Creative Innovation Award*, supported by All In Media
  • The Grassroots Award *
  • The Impact Award *
  • The 2022 Special Award (following the death of HM The Queen) *
  • Best Local Show, supported by RCS
  • Community Station of the Year
  • The John Meyers Station of the Year Award
  • UK Station or Network of the Year, supported by Arqiva
  • Radio Times Moment of the Year (voted by the general public)

Each year, the ARIAS are supported by a generous family of companies working across the UK radio and audio sector. This year, they include Arquiva, Audible, All in Media, MusicMaster, RCS and Radio Times. Further sponsorship opportunities are available, via The Radio Academy.

The detailed rubrics and entry requirements for the 2023 ARIAS are available on the Radio Academy website. Entries run from 3 January to 7 February, and the audio eligibility period is the calendar year 2022.

Posted by Experimentor